I found this book in a bargain bin, so Nagel is going to have to wait a few more days. Frankly, I had never read a King book before so I thought I’d give it a try. Zombies absolutely terrify me, but this book, at least through the first 150 pages, has been kind of boring. Maybe I’m desensitized from me recent mental scarring- that scene in 28 Weeks Later where the husband kills his wife by beating the hell out of her and then pushing his fingers into her eyes is still burned into my psyche- but the violence has been kind of blah. I hear that Eli Roth of Hostel fame is going to make this into a movie, so that should be brutal.

In any case, this has been a trippy read. Not too scary, though. If you want to know what scares me the most check out Tolstoy’s The Death of Ivan Ilych. I could barely sleep after reading that one.

A warning note to anyone who hasn’t fucked up already- DO NOT WATCH MULHOLLAND DRIVE

